Ripple effect

If you look for lessons, you’ll find them. In this particular case, it wasn’t difficult to see, almost hard to deny.

Every little thing is a part of your journey; yoga is a major factor in my life’s journey. I have had times where I ignore it for weeks, and days where I’ve spent many hours honing my skills and knowledge.

In New Zealand you won’t find a yoga studio on every corner similar to my experience in Colorado. I’ve found a bit of a niche here, without really having to try.

The first class I taught went amazing even though I did no preparation for it. I just taught what came to mind. It was a slow and gentle flow with a few challenging poses thrown in and joint freeing postures. All of the ladies appeared energized and happy throughout, even with high winds and difficulty hearing at times. After I received the best reviews. It was the biggripple2est class I had taught and I was really beaming with pride.

Second class. I thought I would try to practice the exact flow I was trained for in my yoga teacher training at Pranava in Colorad
o. With much practice in this vinyasa flow I assumed this class would go even better. I reflected on the class before it happened; the weather was a bit gloomy, the grass was a little wet, but there was no wind. Everything should be fine.

Two women showed up first, both hadn’t been to yoga in a bit and were very easy going with the fact that they could decide if they wanted to practice on cement or the grass. I left my yoga mat in Colorado and really just didn’t want to buy another in New Zealand. No one seemed to mind or notice until the other two women assembled for my second class.

As I type, let me remind you I pass no judgement toward the woman who immediately commented on the mats. Maybe she had never practiced without one and that was totally okay. I assured her that she could do whatever worked for her, as I would try to teach most of the class standing up anyways.

That was my first mistake. Never try to teach an entire class standing up if there are beginners. Perhaps they might need to take a break, or modify a pose on the ground. Next mistake, there are a lot of downward dog postures in the flow I was planning on doing. A modification for this is to rest your knees on the ground. downdog

Well, my first client walked out of my first yoga class. She said “sorry” as she gathered her things and turned toward the car, leaving myself and the other three to continue. I said kindly “please don’t be sorry”, but inside I was crushed.

I specifically remember my guru who taught me everything I know about yoga instructing to not let it break you when someone doesn’t like your teaching style, or a class.

I literally thought that while she was walking away and thought I was keeping it together. I continued the flow but immediately started to feel like it was too difficult for the remaining ladies. Clearly, I had no idea if this were the case or not. I then brought them to the ground for a few more stretches and abruptly ended class.
Not until I was zooming away on my longboard, after saying goodbye to all the women, did I check the time. 30 minutes! I only taught a 30 minute class!

One of the women said to me she really enjoyed the class and would like to return but this was her only free day of the week. I wanted to burst! How rude of me to invite her to a yoga class and only teach half of what my intentions were.ripple1
After a great deal of reflection, talking myself down, and working on kindness toward myself I found the lesson behind this class.

Actions don’t create a ripple effect, whether they are good or bad; it’s the reaction to this that creates potential turmoil or continued joy.

I vow to not let my emotions get the best of me, especially when offering a service that I care so deeply about and know it has many positive health benefits for all involved.

For all I know, all of the remaining women in the class thoroughly enjoyed the 30 minutes and maybe that was enough for them. My perfectionism shouldn’t be cast upon everyone else around me. Throughout my happiness project (resolution checklist to see if I’m following through) I have added this to be more aware of as I press
forward in my life. I hope anyone that has had to deal with these happiness draining tendencies can forgive and have faith that I will improve and my ripple effect will cease to be negative with time and practice!

ripple

perfectdownmindfullquote-ghandi-future8e4cd55152a86df657deb6017474c70a

If you like this check out my other yoga writings! Thanks

Tapas

Dedication and dispassion

Freedom through the Yoga Sutras

“When you are measuring life, you are not living it.”

Leave a comment