CO: Snowskate Central

A snowskate is a hybrid of a skateboard and a snowboard, intended primarily to allow for skateboard-style tricks on the snow. There are many types depending on the brand or style of snowskate.

Around 1970, a product called the “Snow Skate” was sold in local toy and sporting good stores. They resembled the modern day Fuse snowskate. There were two ski-like aparati that were attached to the area around the truck of a skateboard, allowing the skateboard to move through the snow. The “Ski” portion of the snow skate is made of a hard plastic with rubber straps that went over the skateboard wheels to hold them together. Other mentionable early snowskate brands were The “Skeeter and the “Snodad”.

Designs of this early era ranged from two skiblades on the lower deck to four blades on the lower deck.

Snowskates are now available in four varieties: the single deck variety, the bideck variety, the 4×4 variety, and the powderskate variety. All of the modern snowskates have either a waterproof top grip coating on the deck, or a textured deck to avoid slippage while riding.

snow skateSki boarding is really swell because it’s similar to snow boarding without the expenses. You don’t need boots, a big expensive board, or more expensive lift pass to your local resort. It’s a fantastic workout because you are the lift; up the hill you will trudge – but I can assure you it’s worth it!

It’s also really cool not being strapped into your board – giving you the most freedom when flying down a mountain.

Flying is what entices me the most. Any way to imitate the art of flight, I will attempt. Attempt being the key word for my first go at snow skating. As soon as I started, I never want it to end – except the part where I continuously ate shit – fortunately it was on a powdery blanket of white each time.

Colorado is the best place to learn, I can guarantee that first-hand from learning to ski on ice mountains. Literal ice mountains. When the powder can’t produce fast enough, combined with damp, slushy conditions you get sleet or ice. So if you’re living in CO and contemplating if now’s the right time to try – it is.

A friend allowed me to borrow his board and I lost it after about 5 hours. That was when I started a new ‘new years resolution’ to stop losing important things. No matter because it was surely a sign that since I had to fix my mistake and buy him a new one.. I should probably buy myself one to play with him. So once the boards come in the mail we’ll have two bidecks and a 4×4 !!!

trentSo that’s how my adventure with snow skating took off. My friend, Trent on the other hand has been skating since high school – snow skate, long board, skiing – you name it he’ll at least try it (and probably be really good at it).

Needless to say, I have a pretty bomb teacher who is extremely passionate and driven to skate. Which is super fun for me because I am already learning so much. It helps with balance, precision, awareness and meditation. Boarding helps to better yourself internally and externally. It’s pretty much the bees knees.

It is better to go skating and think of God, than go to church and think of sport.

skate

Leave a comment